Image

Flashback: David Wright Hands Walk-off to Philly

David Wright Hands Walk-off to Philly

The Mets-Phillies game at CitiField on July 5, 2012 was my favorite game from last season. My friend and I went to CitiField one day earlier on a sweltering Independence Day in hopes of watching New York hand Philadelphia a patriotic rout. Instead we were on the receiving end. But hey, at least some obnoxious P-hat wearing Phillies hand got kicked out of the stadium.

The following day I called out of work and decided to watch the Mets game at home. It had everything I wanted: a matchup against a division rival while we still had playoff hopes, tension and a come-from-behind victory capped off, a walk-off courtesy of All-Star David Wright. Daniel Murphy tied up the game with some timely hitting, and Jordany Valdespin even induced a hit by pitch with a good at-bat to keep our 9th inning rally alive.

Oh, and Jonathan Papelbon blew the save and had to walk off the mound with his head down and a deafening roar from Mets fans.

I have not seen such a thrilling Mets game since then, but who knows what excitement the 2013 season will bring. No matter where we fall in the National League East, if I can live another moment that induces me to run around the house, scream and shout I will be content.

Leave a Reply

